Carpentries Governance

Governance of The Carpentries is undertaken by the Executive Council, to whom the Executive Director reports. The Council comprises nine members, from The Carpentries community or others, four elected by the community, and five appointed from the Executive Council.

Roles and Responsibilities of the Executive Council

The Carpentries Executive Council is the highest leadership body of The Carpentries project. It is responsible for strategic and organisational planning, selecting the Executive Director and evaluating their performance, financial oversight, identifying revenue streams and resource development, approving and monitoring The Carpentries programs and services, and enhancing The Carpentries public image. Members of the council also serve as advocates and ambassadors for the organisation, leveraging their networks to benefit the project’s reputation and fundraising. The Executive Council executes these responsibilities through a combination of monthly Executive Council meetings and regular correspondence and collaboration via email and online platforms.

What is the Executive Council working on?

In addition to publicly posting meeting minutes, the Executive Council reports on its activities periodically in Carpentries Clippings (the organizational newsletter) as well as through blog posts. The council also prepares Yearly Summaries of its activities.

Current Executive Council Members

Sarah Stevens

Elected 2021
Executive Council Chair

Konrad Förstner

Appointed 2020Elected 2022
Executive Council Vice-Chair
Governance Committee Chair

Aleksandra Nenadic

Elected 2021
Executive Council Secretary
Program Committee Chair

Michael Smith

Appointed 2021
Executive Council Treasurer
Finance Committee Chair

Yanina Bellini Saibene

Elected 2022

Masami Yamaguchi

Appointed 2021
Communications Committee Chair

John Chodacki

Appointed 2021

Annajiat Alim Rasel

Appointed 2022

Past Executive Council Members

You will find our past Executive Council members on the Carpentries Governance History page.

Carpentries Executive Council Standing Committees

Standing Committees are used by the Executive Council as a practical way to manage the work and engagement of the Executive Council. For a description of the different Standing Committees, see the Carpentries' Handbook.

Officers Committee

  • Sarah Stevens (Chair)
  • Konrad Förstner (Vice Chair)
  • Michael Smith (Treasurer)
  • Aleksandra Nenadic (Secretary)

Governance Committee

  • Konrad Förstner (Committee Chair)
  • Annajiat Alim Rasel
  • Yanina Bellini Saibene

Finance Committee

  • Michael Smith (Committee Chair)
  • John Chodacki
  • Masami Yamaguchi

Communications Committee

  • Masami Yamaguchi (Committee Chair)
  • Yanina Bellini Saibene
  • Omar Khan (Core Team member)

Program Committee

  • Annajiat Alim Rasel
  • Aleksandra Nenadic (Committee Chair)
  • Sarah Stevens

Carpentries Bylaws and Policies

The Carpentries Bylaws can be found in the Handbook. As well as our Code of Conduct, we have a number of policies that govern how we operate, including our Privacy Policy, our instructor 'no-show' policy and others.

Contacting the Executive Council

The Executive Council can be contacted submitting an issue to their GitHub repository; sending them an email; or by filling this form. Read more about how to contact the Executive Council.

Edit this page on Github